How to watch Axiom-1 space tourists return from ISS

NOTE: As of Tuesday evening, NASA has decided to postpone the undocking for a second time due to poor weather conditions at the recovery site. The space agency is now working on a new scheduled for the departure of the Ax-1 crew and we will update this page when it become available.

With the first fully private space tourism mission to the International Space Station (ISS) drawing to a close this Tuesday, the Axiom-1 crew will soon be heading back to Earth on a SpaceX craft.

The Axiom-1 crew consists of Commander Michael López-Alegría, Pilot Larry Connor, and Mission Specialists Eytan Stibbe and Mark Pathy. Their departure from the ISS will be livestreamed, and we have the details on how to watch.

What to expect from the departure

The 11-person crew aboard the station comprises of (clockwise from bottom right) Expedition 67 Commander Tom Marshburn with Flight Engineers Oleg Artemyev, Denis Matveev, Sergey Korsakov, Raja Chari, Kayla Barron, and Matthias Maurer; and Axiom Mission 1 astronauts (center row from left) Mark Pathy, Eytan Stibbe, Larry Conner, and Michael Lopez-Alegria. NASA

The Axiom-1 crew arrived at the ISS on Saturday, April 9, and will head home after spending a total of 12 days in space. They will travel on the SpaceX Dragon Endeavour and are set to splash down off the coast of Florida. As well as carrying the four-person crew home, the Dragon spacecraft will also be loaded with the results of scientific experiments carried out on the ISS in addition to supplies.

How to watch the departure

Coverage of the hatch closure between the ISS and the Dragon is scheduled for 7:45 p.m. ET (4:45 p.m. PT), while the undocking of the Dragon from the ISS is set to take place at about 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT), with coverage running for a further 30 minutes after undocking.

A livestream of Tuesday’s departure will be available on NASA’s website, or you can watch using the video embedded near the top of this page.

Splashdown off the coast of Florida is targeted for no earlier than 3:24 p.m. ET (12:24 p.m. PT) on Wednesday, April 20. This will also be livestreamed.